It is currently Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:36 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: Fishing in Pays Basque
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:37 am 
Site Admin

Is there anyone in the Pays Basque area who could help an owld duffer like me with fly fishing? I'm an absolute beginner. I bought a rod in Scotland years ago and I've been carrying it around with me ever since and now we're here, I'd like to fish on some of the many great-looking rivers down here..
Any takers?
TIA
P

http://piperade-thecompleatanglo.blogspot.com/

Post subject: Re: Fishing in Pays Basque
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:07 pm 

Just found this on a search on fly fishing. I'm a bit like yourself, haven't fished since I was at primary school, and recently took the notion of starting again! I've had a split cane rod for 35 - 40 years, it was made for me and was too good to use, so never was ... sadly the old chap that made it is long gone.
I did buy a s/h kit for brown trout, been out now 6 -7 times and no fish ... but at least I'm getting the fly in the water now ... not so much in the grass behind me lol.
How did you get on? are you catching much? I'll give it a while and see if things improve, I think you really need someone to take you under their wing, there's a lot to know about the river and the fish.
Cheers

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:48 pm 
Site Admin

Whereabouts are you Dolmen?
Sorry I'm a bit remiss in replying but we've just returned from a short break.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:22 am 

Piperade wrote:
Is there anyone in the Pays Basque area who could help an owld duffer like me with fly fishing? I'm an absolute beginner. I bought a rod in Scotland years ago and I've been carrying it around with me ever since and now we're here, I'd like to fish on some of the many great-looking rivers down here..
Any takers?
TIA
P

Ooooh is that an invitation Pip? Just need to convince Boss I'm doing it on behalf of Age Concern. :lol: